European Alternatives to Codecademy

Looking for a European alternative to Codecademy? Its terms name Ryazc, Inc. at 600 Broadway in New York as the DMCA contact and apply the internal laws of the State of New York, so your contract is with a US entity. The pricing page lists Basic at EUR 0, Plus at EUR 14.99 a month billed annually and Pro at EUR 17.99 a month billed annually.

The European platforms below come from Austria, Germany, France, Norway, Hungary and the UK, and they cover free self-paced lessons, open practice with mentoring and live bootcamps with their own imprints and registers.

12 Alternatives
100% GDPR Compliant
How we rank these tools — 4-step process
  1. 1
    European ownership, verified

    The company is headquartered and incorporated in the EU, EEA, the UK, Switzerland or Israel, and processes customer data in Europe or Israel. A US parent company disqualifies a tool from this page regardless of where its servers are.

  2. 2
    Category fit and hands-on review

    What the tool actually does, who it suits, and where it falls short — checked against the vendor’s own documentation, changelog and pricing page rather than its marketing copy.

  3. 3
    Compliance and pricing check

    GDPR posture, hosting location and the prices quoted on this page are verified against the vendor’s public pricing before publication, and re-checked when we revisit the category.

  4. 4
    Position on this page

    Placement on this page can be paid, and that can affect which tools appear here and the order they appear in. It never buys a good review: a tool that fails the checks above is not here at any price, and payment does not change the shortcomings we write about. A vendor can ask us to correct a factual error — not to remove a criticism.

Vendors can pay for visibility on this page. It never changes what an entry says about a product, including the criticism, and we earn nothing when you click through to a vendor. Vendors can pay for more visibility, higher up on the review pages; it never affects which tools are listed. Editorial policy

12 European Alternatives to Codecademy

Mimo

Vienna app with short coding lessons and a free plan

Austria

openHPI

Free IT and computer science courses from a Potsdam institute

Germany

Exercism

Not-for-profit coding practice in 65+ languages with mentoring

United Kingdom

W3Schools

Norwegian web tutorials, references, exercises and certificates

Norway

OpenClassrooms

French online school with mentor-led paths and open courses

France

Le Wagon

Live coding bootcamps in web, data and AI, online or on site

France

neuefische

Berlin bootcamps live online in English and German

Germany

WBS Coding School

Berlin remote courses in data, AI, cloud and UX

Germany

Digital Career Institute

Berlin training provider for cloud, cyber, SAP and data

Germany

Ironhack

Bootcamps in web, data, cyber and UX across Europe

Germany

Codecool

Budapest developer training with pay-after-hiring option

Hungary

Simplon

French social-enterprise school for development and data

France

Key takeaways

  • Codecademy's terms name Ryazc, Inc. in New York as the DMCA contact and apply the internal laws of the State of New York.
  • Codecademy lists Basic at EUR 0, Plus at EUR 14.99 a month billed annually and Pro at EUR 17.99 a month billed annually.
  • Mimo from Vienna, openHPI from Potsdam and Exercism from the UK offer a free way to learn to code without a paid Codecademy tier.
  • neuefische, WBS Coding School, Digital Career Institute and Ironhack run German programmes that can be funded with the Bildungsgutschein or similar routes.
  • Only Le Wagon, whose website runs on Scaleway in Paris, and OpenClassrooms, listed with EU data location, state where data sits; the other ten pages we read are silent.

Why people leave Codecademy

Codecademy is an online coding school whose home page invites visitors to learn to code for free, with courses in AI, data, coding and cybersecurity. Its terms name Ryazc, Inc. at 600 Broadway in New York as the DMCA contact, and the site presents the brand as Codecademy from Skillsoft. A learner in Europe is therefore contracting with a US entity.

The same terms apply the internal laws of the State of New York. For a hobbyist that is a footnote, but for a company that buys seats for staff, or for a public body that wants a European contracting party, it is the first thing a procurement officer asks about. Codecademy also sells team plans with content assignment and progress tracking, which puts learner records in scope.

Most people who go looking for a replacement are not reading terms of service, though. They want a different shape of learning: a free university-style course, a mentor who reads their code, a funded retraining route in their own country, or a live programme with a cohort. The twelve platforms on this page cover those shapes, each run by a company with a registered European entity.

  • The contract sits in New York The Codecademy terms name Ryazc, Inc. at 600 Broadway, New York, and apply the internal laws of the State of New York. Every European platform on this page names a company in its imprint or terms: an Austrian GmbH, a German gGmbH, a Norwegian AS, French SAS companies, a Hungarian Kft. or a UK not-for-profit. Disputes, VAT and consumer rights then follow a jurisdiction you can reach.
  • The paid tiers are priced for an annual commitment The Codecademy pricing page lists Basic at EUR 0, Plus at EUR 14.99 a month billed annually and Pro at EUR 17.99 a month billed annually. The monthly figures therefore translate into one yearly charge. Against that, openHPI is free of charge, Exercism asks for donations, and Mimo keeps a Basic plan free with no end date. Funded bootcamps move the cost to a public voucher or an employer.
  • Learning routes beyond the subscription are now bundled Codecademy advertises live bootcamps and workshops and an All Access Pass that combines every bootcamp, every workshop and Codecademy Pro. That bundles a self-paced subscription with cohort teaching under one account. Several European schools on this page sell only the cohort side, with state or employer funding, mentors and an internship, which is a different purchase from a monthly subscription.
  • A single catalogue cannot match every national funding scheme The German Bildungsgutschein, the French CPF account and Hungarian deferred payment are routes that a US subscription does not plug into. neuefische says courses can be funded in full with the Bildungsgutschein, OpenClassrooms paths are often paid through CPF or an employer, and Codecool advertises deferred payment. If your retraining is paid by a public body, a local provider is often the only option.

What you have to replace, not just match

Codecademy is two products under one name: a self-paced lesson library, and live bootcamps with workshops. No single European provider replaces both. Mimo, openHPI, Exercism and W3Schools cover the library side. Le Wagon, neuefische, WBS Coding School, Ironhack, Codecool and Simplon cover the bootcamp side. OpenClassrooms and Digital Career Institute sit in between, as diploma and retraining providers.

Count what you actually used. If you finished short lessons on a phone, Mimo is the closest format. If you read university-style material, openHPI fits. If you wrote exercises in a new language and wanted feedback, Exercism has mentoring across more than 65 languages. If you looked up syntax between tasks, W3Schools is the reference. A certificate from Codecademy has no direct European equivalent in these catalogues, so check what your employer accepts.

Team accounts are the part that is hardest to match. Codecademy markets content assignment and progress tracking for teams. The European platforms here are mostly aimed at individual learners or at funded cohorts, and their pages we read did not describe team dashboards. Companies buying for staff should ask each vendor directly before moving.

The alternatives compared

European Codecademy alternatives, in the order this page ranks them, compared on headquarters, pricing and jurisdiction
PositionToolHeadquartersPricingJurisdiction
#1 Mimo Vienna, Austria Basic is free forever; Pro (mobile) and Max (web and mobile) are paid, with a 7-day free trial; amounts not captured in the page text we read EU (Austria)
#2 openHPI Potsdam, Germany Free of charge, per the about page EU (Germany)
#3 Exercism United Kingdom (city not stated on the pages we read), United Kingdom No price on the pages we read; donations requested via a Donate link United Kingdom (adequacy decision, outside the EEA)
#4 W3Schools Norway (city not stated on the pages we read), Norway Free tutorials, references and exercises; paid Plus, certificates and courses; no amounts in the page text we read EEA, not EU (Norway)
#5 OpenClassrooms Paris, France Free courses / diploma paths from about €300 per month, often funded by CPF or employer EU (France)
#6 Le Wagon Paris, France Tuition on a separate page, not in the text we read EU (France)
#7 neuefische Berlin, Germany Courses can be 100% funded with the Bildungsgutschein, per the home page; other prices not shown EU (Germany)
#8 WBS Coding School Berlin, Germany Bildungsgutschein and QCG funding mentioned; prices not shown in the text we read EU (Germany)
#9 Digital Career Institute Berlin, Germany Bildungsgutschein route and free consultation; no prices in the text we read EU (Germany)
#10 Ironhack Berlin, Germany Not shown on the pages we read; a free bootcamp for the unemployed in Germany is advertised EU (Germany)
#11 Codecool Budapest, Hungary Deferred payment advertised on the home page (Hungarian); amounts not read EU (Hungary)
#12 Simplon Montreuil, France Not shown in the text we read EU (France)

How each alternative compares to Codecademy

#1

Mimo

the nearest match for short daily lessons, with a free tier

Vienna, AustriaBasic is free forever; Pro (mobile) and Max (web and mobile) are paid, with a 7-day free trial; amounts not captured in the page text we read#1 in Coding Learning Platforms

Best for: Beginners who studied on a phone with Codecademy Basic and want a European account

Mimo GmbH, registered in Vienna as FN 459820, teaches HTML, CSS, JavaScript, TypeScript, React, SQL, Python and Swift through short interactive lessons. Its career paths cover front-end, back-end, full-stack and Python, and an AI tutor is part of the paid plans. That shape is the closest to Codecademy Basic and Plus among the twelve platforms.

The free Basic plan has no end date, but it limits course access and the AI tutor, and full web access needs Max. The pages list eight courses and four career paths, a smaller catalogue than Codecademy advertises. Mimo does not state where it hosts data, so the Austrian entity is the European guarantee, not the server location.

What Mimo does better than Codecademy

  • Contracts with an Austrian GmbH that has a register number and VAT ID in its imprint
  • Keeps a Basic plan free with no end date and gives a 7-day trial on paid plans
  • Offers its site in English and German
  • Packs career paths into a mobile-first lesson format

Where Mimo is a step down from Codecademy

  • Lists only eight courses against Codecademy's wider catalogue
  • Needs the Max plan for full web access
  • Does not state a data location

Standout against Codecademy. Mimo is the only platform on this list built around phone-first lessons with an AI tutor and a free plan that never expires.

mimo.org Visit Mimo
#2

openHPI

free university-style IT courses instead of a paid subscription

Potsdam, GermanyFree of charge, per the about page#2 in Coding Learning Platforms

Best for: Learners who like scheduled courses from an institute and do not want to pay

openHPI is run by the Hasso Plattner Institute for Digital Engineering gGmbH in Potsdam, entered at the Potsdam district court as HRB 12184. Its free MOOCs cover computer science, IT and AI, with channels for clean IT and design thinking, and a school offer called openHPIschool. The about page states that the courses are free of charge.

This is a different learning style from a subscription. The pages we read describe courses with a schedule, not an in-browser code editor or a daily practice loop. Certificate cost, hosting location and the terms of use were not read. Learners who want to type code every day should pair openHPI with Exercism or Mimo.

What openHPI does better than Codecademy

  • Costs nothing, per the about page, where Codecademy Plus and Pro are paid tiers
  • Backed by a research institute and a German non-profit company
  • Covers AI, clean IT and design thinking beyond pure coding
  • Available in English and German

Where openHPI is a step down from Codecademy

  • Does not describe a code sandbox or daily practice features
  • Runs scheduled courses rather than on-demand paths
  • Certificate cost and hosting location are not stated

Standout against Codecademy. openHPI is the only entry here that comes from a university institute and charges nothing for its courses.

open.hpi.de Visit openHPI
#3

Exercism

language practice with volunteer mentors, funded by donations

United Kingdom (city not stated on the pages we read), United KingdomNo price on the pages we read; donations requested via a Donate link#3 in Coding Learning Platforms

Best for: Developers who already code and want feedback in a new language

Exercism is a not-for-profit company with UK company number 11733062. It offers tracks in more than 65 languages, a forum, community videos, a GitHub Syncer that backs up your solutions, and volunteer mentoring on submitted exercises. The pages show a Donate link and no price. Beginners are pointed to a separate platform called Jiki, which we did not review.

Against Codecademy, Exercism is narrower and more demanding: it has no career paths and no professional certificates, and it assumes you can already write basic code. The company city and the hosting location are not stated. The United Kingdom has an adequacy decision but sits outside the EEA, which matters for strict EU-only requirements.

What Exercism does better than Codecademy

  • Adds human feedback from volunteer mentors on your own solutions
  • Covers more than 65 languages in tracks
  • Asks for donations, not a subscription
  • Backs up your solutions to GitHub

Where Exercism is a step down from Codecademy

  • Has no career paths or professional certificates
  • Sends true beginners to a separate platform
  • Sits in the UK, outside the EEA, and shows no hosting location

Standout against Codecademy. Exercism pairs every language track with a human mentor, something Codecademy's lesson format does not describe.

exercism.org Visit Exercism
#4

W3Schools

a reference site with exercises, from a Norwegian operator

Norway (city not stated on the pages we read), NorwayFree tutorials, references and exercises; paid Plus, certificates and courses; no amounts in the page text we read#4 in Coding Learning Platforms

Best for: Developers who look up web syntax and want quick exercises beside the docs

W3Schools is operated by Refsnes Data AS and W3Schools Network AS in Norway, and its terms apply Norwegian law. The site offers tutorials, references and exercises for many languages, plus paid Plus, certificates and courses, a mobile app, Spaces, Practice and Campus. The privacy page includes a dedicated section for the EEA and the UK.

The site is built for reading and short exercises, so it does not copy Codecademy's guided paths with projects. Prices for Plus, certificates and courses are not in the text we read, and neither are the company city or the hosting location. Norway belongs to the EEA but not the EU, which counts for most data protection purposes.

What W3Schools does better than Codecademy

  • Names a Norwegian operator and applies Norwegian law
  • Publishes a privacy section for EEA and UK visitors
  • Gives free tutorials, references and exercises across many languages
  • Works as a lookup tool during real work, which a course path does not

Where W3Schools is a step down from Codecademy

  • Has no guided career paths with projects
  • Does not show prices for paid products in the text we read
  • Does not state where data is hosted

Standout against Codecademy. W3Schools is the quickest place on this list to check one piece of syntax and run a small exercise on it.

w3schools.com Visit W3Schools
#5

OpenClassrooms

a French diploma route, not a subscription replacement

Paris, FranceFree courses / diploma paths from about €300 per month, often funded by CPF or employer#2 in E-Learning Platforms

Best for: Career changers who need a state-recognised qualification and may have CPF or employer funding

OpenClassrooms SAS, founded in 2013 in Paris, delivers qualifications registered with the French state under RNCP. Each student meets a mentor every week, and assessment happens through projects that build a portfolio. A free course library sits beside the paid diploma paths, which start from about EUR 300 a month and are often funded through CPF or an employer.

The comparison with Codecademy is about commitment. A diploma path asks for steady weekly effort over months, and it is costly without funding. Recognition is France-specific, and the subject range is mainly technical. The company terms also name OpenClassrooms Inc. in the US and a Limited as subsidiaries, so check which entity signs your contract.

What OpenClassrooms does better than Codecademy

  • Awards state-recognised RNCP qualifications, not course certificates
  • Provides a weekly one-to-one mentor
  • Assesses through projects that produce a portfolio
  • Can be funded by CPF or an employer

Where OpenClassrooms is a step down from Codecademy

  • Costs about EUR 300 a month without funding
  • Carries recognition that mostly applies in France
  • Offers a free library narrower than its paid offering

Standout against Codecademy. OpenClassrooms is the only entry that ends in a French state-registered qualification with a weekly mentor.

openclassrooms.com Visit OpenClassrooms
#6

Le Wagon

a live bootcamp with a stated French host, not a daily lesson app

Paris, FranceTuition on a separate page, not in the text we read#6 in Coding Learning Platforms

Best for: Career changers who want an intensive cohort programme in web, data or AI

Le Wagon runs bootcamps of about 400 hours and skill courses of about 40 hours, taught live on site or online, plus free workshops and events. The legal notice names Galiléo Global Education 4, SAS in Paris as editor, with Le Wagon GmbH in Berlin as a second entity. Its website is hosted by Scaleway in Paris, which is a rare stated location on this list.

Le Wagon replaces Codecademy's live bootcamps, not its everyday lessons. Tuition sits on a separate page that we did not read. The footer mentions Le Wagon, Inc., and we did not check who owns Galiléo Global Education 4. Someone who wants to study for twenty minutes a day will find the format too heavy.

What Le Wagon does better than Codecademy

  • States French hosting for its website with Scaleway in Paris
  • Teaches live in cohorts across a network of 27 campuses, per the site
  • Shows a Qualiopi certificate
  • Links free workshops to try the teaching first

Where Le Wagon is a step down from Codecademy

  • Demands about 400 hours for a bootcamp
  • Does not show tuition in the pages we read
  • Mentions Le Wagon, Inc. in its footer, with the ultimate owner unchecked

Standout against Codecademy. Le Wagon is the one bootcamp here that names a European hosting provider and city for its website.

lewagon.com Visit Le Wagon
#7

neuefische

a German live online bootcamp that is often paid by the state

Berlin, GermanyCourses can be 100% funded with the Bildungsgutschein, per the home page; other prices not shown#7 in Coding Learning Platforms

Best for: Learners in Germany who qualify for the Bildungsgutschein

neuefische GmbH in Berlin, entered as HRB 276813B at Amtsgericht Charlottenburg, teaches live online in English and German. Its courses include AI, cybersecurity and web development, and Data Science and AI with an IHK certificate. The home page says courses can be funded in full with the Bildungsgutschein, and quotes more than 7,000 alumni and a quality certification by HZA, as the vendor claims.

The privacy policy names US tool providers such as Google Ireland, Contentful, Hotjar, HubSpot Inc. and Calendly LLC, so the European contracting party does not mean a fully European stack. No price for self-payers is shown. As a bootcamp it also lacks the free daily practice that Codecademy Basic gives.

What neuefische does better than Codecademy

  • Contracts through a German GmbH with register number and VAT ID
  • Offers a Bildungsgutschein funding route
  • Teaches live online in English and German
  • Includes coaching and an IHK-certified Data Science and AI course

Where neuefische is a step down from Codecademy

  • Shows no price for people who pay themselves
  • Names several US tool providers in its privacy policy
  • Offers no self-paced subscription

Standout against Codecademy. neuefische ties a live online bootcamp to the Bildungsgutschein more explicitly than any other entry on this page.

neuefische.de Visit neuefische
#8

WBS Coding School

remote programmes from 8 weeks to 12 months, with an internship

Berlin, GermanyBildungsgutschein and QCG funding mentioned; prices not shown in the text we read#8 in Coding Learning Platforms

Best for: Career changers who want a funded remote programme with an internship included

WBS TRAINING SE in Berlin, HRB 286020 B, runs WBS Coding School as a fully remote provider. Courses range from 8 weeks to 12 months in data, AI, cloud and UX, and the longer programmes include an internship and a MacBook Air. The Bildungsgutschein and QCG are named as funding routes, and the terms are published as a bilingual PDF.

This is a training provider rather than a lesson library, so it answers a different question than Codecademy Pro. Tuition is not shown for self-payers, funding depends on eligibility, and the hosting location is not stated. The pages we read present no free tier to try before applying.

What WBS Coding School does better than Codecademy

  • Gives an internship in the long programmes
  • Names Bildungsgutschein and QCG funding
  • Contracts with a German SE with register entry in the imprint
  • Includes hardware with the long programmes

Where WBS Coding School is a step down from Codecademy

  • Shows no tuition for self-payers
  • Has no self-paced or free tier
  • Does not state where its hosting sits

Standout against Codecademy. WBS Coding School is the only entry here that bundles a laptop and an internship into a remote programme.

wbscodingschool.com Visit WBS Coding School
#9

Digital Career Institute

a Berlin retraining provider for cloud, security and SAP, not a coding app

Berlin, GermanyBildungsgutschein route and free consultation; no prices in the text we read#9 in Coding Learning Platforms

Best for: Career changers in Germany heading towards cloud, SAP or cybersecurity roles

DCI Digital Career Institute GmbH in Berlin (HRB 177854 B) runs a second entity, Digital Career Institute Training gGmbH. Its programmes include AWS and Azure cloud engineering, SAP development, cybersecurity and data engineering, with German language training and job coaching. A free consultation and the Bildungsgutschein route are offered.

Few pure programming courses are visible, so it is closer to a retraining institute than to a Codecademy replacement. The pages we read show no prices or hosting location, and the site targets learners in Germany. Someone who wants to learn Python from scratch at home will be better served by Mimo first.

What Digital Career Institute does better than Codecademy

  • Trains for cloud and SAP roles that Codecademy does not feature
  • Adds German language training and job coaching
  • Offers a free consultation before any commitment
  • Names two German entities with register numbers

Where Digital Career Institute is a step down from Codecademy

  • Shows few pure coding courses
  • Does not publish prices or hosting in the text we read
  • Mainly serves learners in Germany

Standout against Codecademy. Digital Career Institute is the entry that centres on SAP and cloud certification tracks, and bundles German language lessons.

digitalcareerinstitute.org Visit Digital Career Institute
#10

Ironhack

bootcamps in web, data, cyber and UX across European cities

Berlin, GermanyNot shown on the pages we read; a free bootcamp for the unemployed in Germany is advertised#10 in Coding Learning Platforms

Best for: Career changers who want an on-campus or remote bootcamp in a European city

Ironhack Germany GmbH, registered as HRB 196308 B in Berlin-Charlottenburg, offers bootcamps in web development, data analytics, cybersecurity, UX/UI, data science and machine learning, and DevOps. Learners attend a campus or study remotely, and a free bootcamp for the unemployed in Germany is advertised. The German imprint carries a VAT ID.

Only the German entity was verified in our pack. The owner structure and the entities for other regions were not shown, and the site menu lists San Juan and US regions. Learners outside Germany should confirm which entity signs their contract. No prices appear on the pages we read, and a bootcamp does not replace Codecademy's daily practice.

What Ironhack does better than Codecademy

  • Gives a choice of campus or remote study
  • Covers cybersecurity, DevOps and UX alongside web development
  • Advertises a free route for the unemployed in Germany
  • Names a German GmbH with register and VAT ID

Where Ironhack is a step down from Codecademy

  • Leaves the owner structure and other regional entities unclear
  • Shows no prices on the pages we read
  • Offers no self-paced subscription

Standout against Codecademy. Ironhack is the entry with the widest bootcamp topic list, including DevOps and UX/UI, with campuses in several European cities.

ironhack.com Visit Ironhack
#11

Codecool

Hungarian mentor-led training with a deferred payment option

Budapest, HungaryDeferred payment advertised on the home page (Hungarian); amounts not read#11 in Coding Learning Platforms

Best for: Hungarian-speaking career changers who want mentor-led project work and may pay later

CodeCool Kft. in Budapest (registry 01-09-394554) and CodeCool Austria GmbH run the main course, a 7-month AI-Assisted Developer programme. A 4-week AI starter lets learners try the teaching, and an AI Engineering part-time course exists. Mentors guide project work, and deferred payment is advertised on the Hungarian home page.

The pages we read are mostly in Hungarian, which narrows the audience compared with Codecademy's English catalogue. The privacy page names three entities, so confirm who contracts with you. It also names the AI providers Anthropic, OpenAI and Google, which means US processing may take place. Prices were not read.

What Codecool does better than Codecademy

  • Offers deferred payment, according to its home page
  • Provides mentor-led project work
  • Lets you try a 4-week AI starter first
  • Publishes registry numbers for its Hungarian entity

Where Codecool is a step down from Codecademy

  • Publishes mostly in Hungarian
  • Names three entities, which blurs the contracting party
  • Names US AI providers in its privacy page

Standout against Codecademy. Codecool is the only entry that advertises deferred payment together with a short 4-week course to test first.

codecool.com Visit Codecool
#12

Simplon

a French social-enterprise school with diploma-level tracks

Montreuil, FranceNot shown in the text we read#12 in Coding Learning Platforms

Best for: French-speaking learners who want a diploma-level course in development or data

Simplon.co is a French SAS in Montreuil (RCS Bobigny 792 791 329) with share capital of EUR 569,030. It holds the status of Entreprise Solidaire d'Utilité Sociale. Tracks cover development, data and AI, networks and cybersecurity, and digital skills, with levels from discovery up to Bac+5 and work-study options.

Simplon mostly publishes in French, so learners who do not read French have little to use. It is not a self-paced platform, and the pages we read show no prices and no hosting location. It suits a learner who wants a degree-style programme and an employer, not someone replacing a monthly Codecademy plan.

What Simplon does better than Codecademy

  • Holds a social-enterprise status under French law
  • Offers levels from discovery to Bac+5
  • Provides work-study options
  • Publishes its share capital and register number

Where Simplon is a step down from Codecademy

  • Publishes mostly in French
  • Is not a self-paced platform
  • Shows no prices or hosting in the text we read

Standout against Codecademy. Simplon is the only entry that is a recognised French social enterprise offering work-study routes up to Bac+5.

simplon.co Visit Simplon

What actually breaks when you switch

The first loss is progress. None of the twelve platforms describes an import of Codecademy course history on the pages we read, so completed lessons and streaks stay behind. Save any certificate you earned before you cancel, and write down which topics you covered, so you can skip those on the new platform.

Then check the payment. A plan billed annually, as the pricing page describes for Plus and Pro, renews as one charge, so cancel before the renewal date rather than after. For team accounts, check who needs to move: Codecademy sells content assignment and progress tracking, and the European platforms we read did not describe equivalent dashboards. Ask for a pilot before you move a whole department.

Can I learn to code for free without Codecademy?

Yes, and three European options need no payment at all. Mimo keeps a Basic plan free with no end date, though full web access needs the Max plan. openHPI says its courses are free of charge on the about page. Exercism shows no price and asks for donations through a Donate link.

The formats differ a lot. Mimo gives short phone lessons, openHPI gives scheduled university-style courses, and Exercism gives exercises with volunteer mentors. Start with the format that matches how you studied before, because the price is the same either way.

Which European option gives a recognised qualification instead of a certificate?

OpenClassrooms delivers qualifications registered with the French state under RNCP, assessed by projects and supported by a weekly one-to-one mentor. Simplon lists levels from discovery to Bac+5 with work-study options. Both are diploma-style routes, so they take months rather than evenings.

The recognition is national. An RNCP qualification means more in France than elsewhere, which OpenClassrooms lists as a limitation. neuefische mentions an IHK certificate on its Data Science and AI course. Ask an employer in your target country which credential it accepts before you enrol.

Which one to pick

If you used Codecademy Basic or Plus on a phone, try Mimo first, and add openHPI when you want structured courses at no cost. If you already code and want feedback, Exercism with its mentors is the better fit. If you looked up syntax, W3Schools covers that without an account.

If you were considering a Codecademy bootcamp, compare Le Wagon, neuefische, Ironhack and WBS Coding School on tuition and funding, which you must ask for. If you need a diploma, OpenClassrooms or Simplon. Digital Career Institute suits cloud and SAP careers, and Codecool suits Hungarian speakers.

Frequently Asked Questions

It depends on the format you used. For short lessons on a phone, Mimo from Vienna has a free Basic plan. For free university-style IT courses, openHPI from the Hasso Plattner Institute in Potsdam. For practice with mentors, Exercism. For a live bootcamp, Le Wagon, neuefische, Ironhack and WBS Coding School. For a state-recognised diploma, OpenClassrooms.

No. Codecademy's terms name Ryazc, Inc. at 600 Broadway in New York as the DMCA contact and apply the internal laws of the State of New York. The site presents the brand as Codecademy from Skillsoft. We read no European contracting entity in the pages we checked, so assume a US counterparty for your account.

Codecademy lists Basic at EUR 0, Plus at EUR 14.99 a month billed annually and Pro at EUR 17.99 a month billed annually. openHPI is free of charge and Exercism is donation-based. OpenClassrooms paths start from about EUR 300 a month unless funded. Most bootcamp pages on this list do not show tuition.

neuefische says its courses can be funded in full with the Bildungsgutschein. WBS Coding School names the Bildungsgutschein and QCG, and Digital Career Institute and Ironhack advertise a Bildungsgutschein route or a free bootcamp for the unemployed. Eligibility is decided by the employment agency, so ask the provider and the agency before you plan around it.

openHPI, Mimo and neuefische publish in English and German, and Exercism and W3Schools are in English. Le Wagon and Ironhack run bootcamps in several European cities and online. Codecool's pages are mostly Hungarian and Simplon's mostly French, so those two suit learners who read those languages.

About the author

Every comparison page on European Purpose is researched and drafted with AI assistance, with the compliance and pricing claims checked against the vendor's own documentation, and is published under the editorial responsibility of its founder.

Sebastiaan Smits

Sebastiaan Smits

Founder · Amsterdam, Netherlands

Founder of European Purpose. Researches and writes the reviews and checks where each company is actually established.

Read our editorial process for how we source, verify and update these pages, and how paid visibility works.

Explore More European Alternatives

Discover privacy-focused European alternatives to other popular US tech services.

More Coding Learning Platforms Browse All Categories