Testpad
London manual testing tool that turns test plans into checklists, with free guest testers and team-size pricing
Quick Overview
| Company | Testpad Limited |
|---|---|
| Category | Test Management |
| Headquarters | London, United Kingdom |
| Founded | Not stated |
| EU Presence | Yes - United Kingdom (UK) |
| Data Location | Amazon Web Services; region not stated on pages checked |
| Open Source | No |
| GDPR Compliant | Yes (UK and EU GDPR, per vendor) |
| Self-Hosting | No self-hosted edition listed |
| Main Features | Plans as indented text lines, result columns per run, reports, image attachments, guest testers, API, exploratory, acceptance and hardware testing use cases |
| Pricing | Essential USD 49 per month annual (3 users), Team USD 99 (10 users), Team 15 USD 149 (15 users), Department USD 249 (25 users); 30-day free trial |
| Best For | Small teams running manual, exploratory and acceptance tests that find case-by-case forms too heavy |
| Replaces | TestRail, spreadsheets |
Detailed Review
Testpad drops the test case form. A test is one line of plain text, indentation gives structure, and columns hold the results of each run, so coverage reads like a checklist. The vendor positions it for manual, exploratory, user acceptance and hardware testing.
The terms and privacy policy identify Testpad Limited as a company registered in England and Wales, number 07670236, with a registered address at 101 King's Cross Road, London. Payments are processed by FastSpring.
Plans
Pricing is by team size rather than per user: Essential for 3 testers at USD 49 a month on annual billing (USD 59 monthly), Team for 10 testers at USD 99, Team 15 at USD 149 and Department for 25 testers at USD 249. Guest testers are free and do not need a seat on plans that include them.
The trial lasts 30 days.
Data and compliance
The privacy policy cites the UK GDPR and the EU GDPR. The service is hosted on Amazon Web Services and data is stored on AWS databases, servers and S3. The security page mentions annual penetration tests and regular automated vulnerability scans.
Where it fits
Testpad is a planning and execution tool for people who run tests by hand. The vendor documents an API.
Limitations to Consider
Testpad is built for manual testing, with no stated requirements module or issue tracker of its own. Hosting is on AWS and the region is not stated on the pages checked. Prices are in US dollars and tied to team-size bundles. The free guest testers are not available on the Essential plan.
Who Should Use Testpad
Small QA and product teams that run manual and acceptance testing and want a checklist-style plan instead of formal cases.
Pros and Cons
Pros
- Tests written as plain text lines
- Free guest testers on Team plans and above
- 30-day trial
- UK company with register number published
- API documented
Cons
- Manual testing focus
- Hosted on AWS, region not stated
- Team-size bundles can cost more than per-seat for small groups
- Prices in US dollars
Alternatives to Testpad
Other European test management worth comparing before you decide:
Testiny
Austria · Graz test management with EU hosting, a free tier and TestRail import
TestMonitor
Netherlands · Utrecht test management with euro pricing and ISO 27001 certification
Squash TM
France · Open-core test repository from Henix with a free Community edition
Kiwi TCMS
Bulgaria · Open-source test management you run as a container or rent as a tenant
See all European test management or compare them directly against TestRail on our alternatives page.
Frequently Asked Questions
Testpad is run by Testpad Limited, registered in England and Wales under company number 07670236 with a London address, so the contracting entity is in the UK.
By team size: Essential covers 3 testers at USD 49 per month annually, Team 10 testers at USD 99, Team 15 at USD 149 and Department 25 testers at USD 249.
The privacy policy says the service runs on Amazon Web Services, with data stored on AWS databases, server instances and S3. The region is not stated on the pages checked.