DFNS
Paris wallet-as-a-service on MPC and threshold signatures, deployable as SaaS, hybrid or fully on-premises
Quick Overview
| Company | DFNS (simplified joint stock company) |
|---|---|
| Category | Crypto Custody Providers |
| Headquarters | Paris, France |
| Founded | Not stated |
| EU Presence | Yes - France (EU) |
| Data Location | DFNS cloud, your cloud or on-premises |
| Open Source | No |
| GDPR Compliant | Yes |
| Self-Hosting | Yes - on-premises and hybrid deployment |
| Main Features | MPC/TSS key management, wallet-as-a-service API, policy and governance engine, tokenization engine, 100+ blockchains, SDKs in eight languages, on-premises deployment |
| Pricing | Starter $800/year, Basic $8,000/year, Pro $35,000/year, Enterprise custom (USD, 30-day free trial) |
| Best For | Banks and fintechs embedding wallets or custody into their own product |
| Replaces | BitGo wallet API, Fireblocks, in-house key management |
Detailed Review
DFNS sells the layer underneath a custody product: the keys, the signing, the policies and the wallet API. Its terms name DFNS, a French simplified joint stock company registered in Paris, as publisher and owner of the platform, and apply French law with the courts of Paris.
The company states that it is a technology provider only and does not provide custody, banking or financial services, so the regulated client institution keeps responsibility for the assets. That makes it a building block for banks and fintechs rather than a vault you open an account at.
Keys that never exist whole
DFNS runs on multi-party computation and threshold signature schemes by default, and says a complete private key is never created or stored anywhere. Its security page adds share repair, share refresh and key rotation, on a schedule or on demand.
Signing continues while the threshold quorum holds, which the page describes as surviving signers going offline.
Three ways to deploy
The same platform runs in DFNS's cloud, in the customer's own cloud, or fully on-premises. For a bank whose supervisor will not accept an external key service, the on-premises route is the reason DFNS belongs on a shortlist against hosted vaults.
IBM's published choice of DFNS as the core technology of IBM Digital Asset Haven shows the product being used under a larger vendor's name.
Pricing you can read
Unlike most providers in this category, DFNS publishes annual plans: Starter at $800 with ten wallets and one blockchain, Basic at $8,000, Pro at $35,000 and a custom Enterprise tier. Billing is in US dollars, which matters for a euro budget.
Limitations to Consider
DFNS is not a custodian, so it does not hold assets, carry custody insurance or offer a legal segregation structure; those duties stay with the client. Plans are priced in US dollars, the date of founding is not stated on the pages checked, and the Starter plan covers one blockchain and one user. For a held-for-you service see Tangany or Zodia Custody.
Who Should Use DFNS
Regulated institutions and fintechs that need to operate their own custody or wallet service and want MPC key infrastructure from a French vendor, including the option to run it inside their own perimeter.
Pros and Cons
Pros
- MPC/TSS with no complete key stored
- SaaS, hybrid and on-premises deployment
- Public annual pricing and 30-day trial
- 100+ blockchains and eight SDK languages
- French entity under French law
Cons
- Technology provider, not a custodian
- Prices quoted in US dollars
- Starter plan limited to one blockchain and one user
- No founding date or licence number stated on pages checked
Alternatives to DFNS
Other European crypto custody providers worth comparing before you decide:
Tangany
Germany · BaFin-licensed wallet-as-a-service custody for platforms
Boerse Stuttgart Digital Custody
Germany · Fiduciary crypto custody from a German exchange group
Taurus
Switzerland · Custody software for banks, with keys held by the client
Zodia Custody
United Kingdom · London custodian with air-gapped cold wallets and instant withdrawals
See all European crypto custody providers or compare them directly against BitGo wallet API on our alternatives page.
Frequently Asked Questions
No. DFNS states on its own site that it is a technology provider and does not provide custody, banking or financial services. The regulated client institution remains responsible for custody and client asset protection.
Yes, its security page describes running in DFNS's cloud, in the customer's cloud or fully on-premises, and the product pages list an on-premises option.
The pricing page lists Starter at $800 per year, Basic at $8,000, Pro at $35,000 and a custom Enterprise plan, with a 30-day free trial. All figures are in US dollars.