Best European Customer Support

Looking for a GDPR-compliant alternative to Intercom or Zendesk? European customer support platforms offer live chat, helpdesk, and ticketing with EU data residency.

How we rank these tools — 4-step process
  1. 1
    European ownership, verified

    The company is headquartered and incorporated in the EU, EEA, the UK, Switzerland or Israel, and processes customer data in Europe or Israel. A US parent company disqualifies a tool from this page regardless of where its servers are.

  2. 2
    Category fit and hands-on review

    What the tool actually does, who it suits, and where it falls short — checked against the vendor’s own documentation, changelog and pricing page rather than its marketing copy.

  3. 3
    Compliance and pricing check

    GDPR posture, hosting location and the prices quoted on this page are verified against the vendor’s public pricing before publication, and re-checked when we revisit the category.

  4. 4
    Position on this page

    Placement on this page can be paid, and that can affect the order tools appear in. It never buys a listing: a tool that fails the checks above is not here at any price, and payment does not change the shortcomings we write about. A vendor can ask us to correct a factual error — not to remove a criticism.

Vendors can pay for visibility on this page. It never changes what an entry says about a product, including the criticism, and we earn nothing when you click through to a vendor. Paid placement can affect the order in which tools appear; it never affects whether a tool is listed. Paid placement on this page: Omnidesk. Editorial policy

12 European Customer Support

Omnidesk

Dutch ticket system that puts phone, chat and messaging in one customer timeline

#1 of 12 in this category
Netherlands Pricing not published; quoted on request
Telephony, chat, WhatsApp and emailLive call transcriptionISO and NEN certified

Crisp

Customer messaging platform

#2 of 12 in this category
France From free
Live chatChatbotsKnowledge base

Userlike

German live chat software

#3 of 12 in this category
Germany From free
Live chatChatbotsWhatsApp

Zammad

Open-source helpdesk

#4 of 12 in this category
Germany Free (self-host)
TicketingSelf-hostingMulti-channel

Trengo

The omnichannel customer service inbox - built in Utrecht for modern support teams

#5 of 12 in this category
Netherlands From €19/user/month
Omnichannel inboxlive chatWhatsApp

Dixa

Copenhagen helpdesk that puts phone, email, chat and social in one queue

#6 of 12 in this category
Denmark From €89 per agent per month
Phone in every planOne queue for all channelsAI agent per conversation

Smartsupp

Brno live chat for online shops, with an AI agent that answers from your catalogue

#7 of 12 in this category
Czech Republic Free / from $17 per month billed annually
Free planAI agent on your catalogueChatbot workflows

Znuny

The maintained continuation of OTRS Community Edition, open source from Berlin

#8 of 12 in this category
Germany Free (GPL-3.0) / managed hosting from €675 per month
GPL-3.0SLA and process ticketsSelf-hosted or managed

SupportPal

Self-hosted helpdesk at one price per installation, with no per-agent fee

#9 of 12 in this category
United Kingdom $29.95 per month or $299.95 per year per helpdesk
Runs on your own serverUnlimited operatorsMulti-brand

Customerly

Dublin-based AI-first support suite: Aura AI agent, live chat and help center, with EU data on AWS

#10 of 12 in this category
Ireland Core $19, Growth $69, Ultimate $99 per seat/month; Aura AI agent $0.45 per AI conversation
Aura AI agent trained on your help center, resolves conversations and escalates with contextAI live chat, help center, flows, NPS and CSAT surveys, iOS and Android appsAura can be bought alone per AI conversation, no seats required

Plain

UK support platform for B2B software teams working in Slack, Teams, Discord and email

#11 of 12 in this category
United Kingdom Foundation $45/user/month billed annually ($55 monthly); Horizon $99; Frontier custom
Threads from Slack, Microsoft Teams, Discord, email and chat in one workspace with SLAs and workflowsAri customer AI agent and Sidekick internal assistant, billed in creditsOpen API, Linear and Jira integrations, SOC 2 Type II, hosted on AWS London

OTOBO

Open-source service management and helpdesk from Rother OSS in Bavaria, self-hosted or managed

#12 of 12 in this category
Germany Free open source (GPL v3); managed hosting from EUR 11,400/year in a German data centre
Ticketing, case management, self-service portal and knowledge base for customer serviceIT and enterprise service management with process automation on one codebaseAuthentication against up to ten backends including Active Directory, LDAP and Kerberos

Key takeaways

  • Omnidesk ranks #1 among the European customer support platforms in this directory, because Omnidesk puts email, live chat, WhatsApp, social and telephone in one timeline per customer and connects to national phone networks directly, with calls transcribed live.
  • The pricing model matters more here than the feature list: per agent (Zammad, Dixa, Plain), per workspace (Crisp), per helpdesk (SupportPal) or per AI conversation (Dixa's Mim, Customerly's Aura). Across a growing team those diverge by hundreds of euros a month.
  • Crisp charges per workspace rather than per seat, so on the Unlimited plan adding the tenth support agent costs nothing — the opposite of how Intercom and Zendesk price.
  • Zammad, Znuny and OTOBO are all open source and self-hostable, which for a helpdesk means the complete history of customer complaints stays on infrastructure you control.
  • Userlike hosts exclusively in German data centres with ISO 27001 certification, plus IP restrictions, audit logging and conversation redaction — the set a bank or insurer actually has to satisfy.

European customer support software is live chat, shared inbox and ticketing software operated by companies established in Europe, which stores conversation transcripts — including the names, addresses, order details and complaints customers type into a chat window — on European infrastructure under European law.

European customer support compared

European customer support tools compared on position, country, entry price and best use
PositionToolEstablishedEntry priceBest for
#1 Omnidesk Netherlands Not published; quoted on request Large customer service teams running phone, chat and messaging in one queue
#2 Crisp France Free (2 operators) / Pro €25/month per workspace / Unlimited €95/month Startups and SMBs that want everyone able to answer a customer
#3 Userlike Germany Free tier / Team from about €90/month German and regulated European businesses that must document compliance
#4 Zammad Germany Free self-hosted / from about €7/agent/month Teams wanting a serious self-hosted helpdesk with proper ticketing
#5 Trengo Netherlands From €19 per user per month SMBs that need every customer channel in one inbox
#6 Dixa Denmark Growth €89, Ultimate €139, Prime €179 per agent/month (20% less billed annually); Mim AI agent €0.35 per conversation Support teams that run phone, email, chat and social as one queue
#7 Smartsupp Czech Republic Free / Solo $17, Plus $25, Expert $83 per month billed annually ($24, $35, $117 monthly); Ultimate from $280/month Online shops that want live chat and an AI agent trained on their product catalogue
#8 Znuny Germany Software free (GPL-3.0); managed hosting from €675/month (Silver, annual, plus €1,595 setup); support from €4,250/year Service and IT teams that want open-source ticketing with SLAs on their own servers
#9 SupportPal United Kingdom $29.95/month or $299.95/year per helpdesk; unlimited operators and tickets; extra brands $9.95/month Teams with their own server that want a flat helpdesk price with no charge per agent
#10 Customerly Ireland Core $19, Growth $69, Ultimate $99 per seat/month (10, 20 and 50 AI conversations included); further AI conversations $0.45 each; Aura AI agent alone $0.45 per AI conversation with no seats; prices shown in USD with a EUR switch SaaS teams that want an AI agent first and humans second
#11 Plain United Kingdom Foundation $45/user/month billed annually ($55 monthly), Horizon $99/user/month billed annually, Frontier custom; 1,000 / 2,500 credits per month included, extra credits $10 per 1,000; Ari AI agent 100 credits per resolution B2B software teams supporting customers in Slack and email
#12 OTOBO Germany Software free (GPL v3.0, licence-free); Managed OTOBO from €11,400/year (Professional, virtual server) to €26,000/year (Enterprise, 24/7); additional virtual server €1,500/year Organisations that want open-source service management from a German vendor

Every European customer support tool reviewed

#1 Omnidesk

Leiden, Netherlands Not published; quoted on request Demo on request

Best for: Large customer service teams running phone, chat and messaging in one queue

  • Operating company. Omnidesk
  • Jurisdiction. EU (Netherlands)
  • Where the data sits. EU hosting
  • Independent checks. ISO and NEN certified
  • Source code. Closed source
  • Replaces. Zendesk, Intercom, Freshdesk

Omnidesk is a Dutch ticket system built in Leiden for the size of operation where the queue is the business rather than a side task.

Email, live chat, WhatsApp, social and telephone all land in one timeline per customer, so an agent picking up a call sees the chat from last week without switching tools.

The telephony is the part that separates it from most of this category: it connects to national networks directly rather than bolting a phone integration onto a chat product, and calls are transcribed live.

On top of that sits reporting most helpdesks do not attempt — over fifty metrics, dashboards you define yourself, and connections out to Power BI and QlikView for teams that already report there. It is ISO and NEN certified, hosted in the EU, and its reference customers are names Dutch readers will recognise: KPN, Simyo, Intertoys and Pathe.

Two things are worth knowing before you shortlist it. Pricing is not published anywhere, so every route in runs through a demo, and the product is openly aimed at large teams, which usually means the entry point is priced for one.

The second is more specific to why you might be reading this directory at all: the AI features — intelligent auto-replies and call transcription — are built on Microsoft, OpenAI and Google Gemini technology.

The company, the support and the hosting are European; the model providers behind those particular features are not. That is a smaller exposure than moving your whole helpdesk to a US vendor, and it is one you can ask them to scope, but it is not nothing and we would rather state it than let the EU-built line imply otherwise.

What Omnidesk does well

  • Telephony with direct national network access, not a bolted-on integration
  • One timeline per customer across phone, chat, WhatsApp, email and social
  • Live call transcription and intelligent auto-replies
  • Over fifty metrics, custom dashboards, and Power BI and QlikView connections
  • Dutch company, EU hosting, ISO and NEN certified

Where Omnidesk falls short

  • No published pricing; every evaluation starts with a demo
  • Built and priced for large teams, so a small helpdesk is not the target
  • AI features run on Microsoft, OpenAI and Google Gemini rather than European models
  • Reference customers are heavily Dutch, so ask about support in your market

Standout feature. The phone taken seriously: direct national network access with live transcription, in a category where most tools treat voice as an afterthought.

#2 Crisp

Nantes, France Founded 2015 Free (2 operators) / Pro €25/month per workspace / Unlimited €95/month Free tier

Best for: Startups and SMBs that want everyone able to answer a customer

  • Operating company. Crisp
  • Jurisdiction. EU (France)
  • Where the data sits. EU
  • Independent checks. GDPR
  • Source code. Closed source
  • Replaces. Intercom, Zendesk Chat

Crisp prices per workspace rather than per seat, and that single decision changes how a support desk operates. On the Unlimited plan at €95 per month, operators are unlimited — so the developer who can resolve a technical question in one message gets an account, and so does the person in finance who handles refund queries. Per-seat pricing quietly prevents that, forcing questions to be relayed through whoever holds a licence.

The product is a genuine Intercom replacement rather than a chat widget: live chat, a shared inbox across channels, a chatbot builder, a knowledge base and help centre, a built-in CRM for contact management, and video calls with screen sharing on the higher tier.

Crisp is based in Nantes with EU processing. The free Basic plan covers two operators with 30 days of conversation history — one of the most generous free tiers in the category — and Pro is €25 per month per workspace including four operators, with annual discounts and special pricing for startups and non-profits.

What Crisp trades for that simplicity is depth: reporting and enterprise controls are lighter than Userlike's, and it is not self-hostable.

What Crisp does well

  • Priced per workspace — unlimited operators on the Unlimited plan
  • Chat, shared inbox, chatbot, knowledge base and CRM included
  • Video calls and screen sharing on the top tier
  • Genuinely usable free tier for two operators
  • French company with EU processing, startup and non-profit pricing

Where Crisp falls short

  • Reporting lighter than Userlike
  • No self-hosting option
  • Enterprise controls thinner than Userlike's
  • Chatbot and knowledge base require the Pro plan

Standout feature. Unlimited operators for a flat price: on Crisp Unlimited, giving a colleague access to answer one customer costs nothing.

#3 Userlike

Cologne, Germany Founded 2011 Free tier / Team from about €90/month Free tier

Best for: German and regulated European businesses that must document compliance

  • Operating company. Userlike
  • Jurisdiction. EU (Germany)
  • Where the data sits. German data centres
  • Independent checks. ISO 27001, GDPR
  • Source code. Closed source
  • Replaces. Intercom, Zendesk

Userlike treats GDPR as a product rather than a policy page, and for a regulated business that difference is the whole evaluation. Processing happens entirely within German data centres, Userlike holds ISO 27001 certification for its information security management, retention policies are configurable with automatic deletion schedules, cookie consent is built into the widget, and explicit opt-in means no personal data is collected without consent.

For banking, insurance and healthcare it adds the controls those sectors are actually audited on: IP-based access restrictions, audit logging, the ability to mask or redact sensitive information within conversations, and SAML single sign-on for centralised access management. Redaction is more valuable than it sounds — customers paste card numbers and medical details into chat windows routinely, and a transcript archive that retains them becomes a liability that compounds.

The product itself is a capable omnichannel messaging platform with a unified inbox, AI automation and chatbots, a customisable widget, analytics and API access, from Cologne.

The free tier is genuinely useful with one widget, one operator seat and the full messaging feature set; paid plans start around €90 per month for Team, with Corporate and Flex unlocking full AI, WhatsApp campaigns and advanced analytics. That entry price is high for a small business and reasonable against Intercom for a mid-market one.

What Userlike does well

  • Processing entirely in German data centres, ISO 27001 certified
  • IP restrictions, audit logging and conversation redaction
  • SAML single sign-on and configurable automatic deletion
  • Omnichannel unified inbox with AI automation
  • Genuinely usable free tier with the full messaging feature set

Where Userlike falls short

  • From about €90/month, high for a small business
  • Full AI capabilities need the Corporate or Flex plan
  • No self-hosting option
  • Strongest fit is German-speaking and regulated markets

Standout feature. Redaction inside the transcript: Userlike is the platform here built to strip the card number a customer pasted into chat before it becomes a permanent liability.

#4 Zammad

Berlin, Germany Founded 2016 Free self-hosted / from about €7/agent/month Free self-hosted

Best for: Teams wanting a serious self-hosted helpdesk with proper ticketing

  • Operating company. Zammad GmbH
  • Jurisdiction. EU (Germany)
  • Where the data sits. Your own infrastructure, or German cloud
  • Independent checks. Open source
  • Source code. Open source
  • Replaces. Zendesk, Freshdesk

Zammad is a real helpdesk rather than a chat widget with tickets attached, and for an organisation whose support is ticket-shaped that distinction decides everything. Multi-channel ticket management brings email, web, chat and phone into one queue with proper ticket states and ownership; a knowledge base sits alongside; automation and workflow rules handle triage and escalation; and LDAP and external authentication mean access is managed centrally rather than as a separate user list somebody forgets to prune.

Zammad GmbH is based in Berlin, open source and free to self-host, with a hosted cloud option in Germany from about €7 per agent per month — the cheapest per-agent price in this category by some distance.

Internationalisation and localisation are strong, which matters for a support desk operating in several European languages. Reporting and analytics cover what a desk manager needs, and integrations and extensibility handle the rest. The trade-offs are that self-hosting is real operational work, the interface is functional rather than modern, and Zammad is a ticketing system first — if your support is primarily live chat, Crisp or Smartsupp fit better.

What Zammad does well

  • Proper multi-channel ticketing rather than chat with tickets bolted on
  • Free self-hosted; hosted from about €7/agent, cheapest here
  • LDAP and external authentication for centralised access
  • Strong internationalisation for multilingual desks
  • Open source, German company, knowledge base included

Where Zammad falls short

  • Self-hosting is real operational work
  • Interface functional rather than modern
  • Ticketing-first, so weaker as a live chat product
  • Setup takes longer than a hosted chat widget

Standout feature. LDAP on a free helpdesk: Zammad lets a self-hosted support desk plug into the directory your organisation already uses to manage access.

#5 Trengo

Utrecht, Netherlands From €19 per user per month Free trial

Best for: SMBs that need every customer channel in one inbox

  • Operating company. Trengo B.V.
  • Jurisdiction. EU (Netherlands)
  • Where the data sits. EU (Netherlands)
  • Independent checks. GDPR
  • Source code. Closed source
  • Replaces. Zendesk, Intercom, Front

Trengo puts every channel a customer might use into a single inbox — email, live chat, WhatsApp, social messages, voice — so a support team stops switching between five tabs and stops losing the message that arrived in the one nobody had open. For a small or mid-sized business, that consolidation is worth more than any individual feature.

Team collaboration is built around the same idea: conversations get assigned to a person, internal notes travel with the thread so context does not live in someone's head, and chatbots handle the repetitive questions that would otherwise consume a morning. WhatsApp support in particular matters in European markets where it is the default way customers contact a business.

Trengo B.V. operates from Utrecht with EU processing under GDPR, which for a shared inbox is doing real work — customer conversations routinely contain order details, addresses, complaints and occasionally health or financial information nobody meant to put in writing. From €19 per user per month. It is aimed at SMBs rather than enterprise contact centres, so advanced routing, workforce management and deep analytics sit below what a large operation would expect.

What Trengo does well

  • Email, chat, WhatsApp, social and voice in one inbox
  • Assignment and internal notes keep context with the thread
  • Chatbots for the repetitive questions
  • Dutch company, EU processing under GDPR
  • From €19 per user per month

Where Trengo falls short

  • Aimed at SMBs rather than enterprise contact centres
  • Advanced routing and workforce management are limited
  • Analytics lighter than dedicated platforms
  • Not open source or self-hostable

Standout feature. WhatsApp treated as a first-class support channel — which is how a large part of Europe actually contacts a business.

#6 Dixa

Copenhagen, Denmark Founded 2015 Growth €89, Ultimate €139, Prime €179 per agent/month (20% less billed annually); Mim AI agent €0.35 per conversation None (no self-serve trial; guided onboarding)

Best for: Support teams that run phone, email, chat and social as one queue

  • Operating company. Dixa ApS
  • Jurisdiction. EU (Denmark)
  • Where the data sits. EU customers: Amazon Web Services in Ireland, daily backup elsewhere in Europe; the privacy policy says other customers' data may be stored in the US
  • Source code. Closed source
  • Replaces. Zendesk, Intercom, Freshdesk

Dixa is an omnichannel helpdesk from Dixa ApS in Copenhagen, founded in 2015, that puts phone, email, chat and social into one queue with the contact centre included in every plan. A knowledge base and intelligent routing are part of Dixa, and the Mim AI agent handles conversations at €0.35 each. Dixa is built for support teams whose phone line carries as much of the work as the inbox, rather than for teams adding voice to a chat widget.

Dixa charges per agent: €89 a month on Growth, €139 on Ultimate and €179 on Prime, with 20% less on annual billing. Dixa offers no self-serve trial and starts new customers with guided onboarding instead. Mim is billed per conversation, so the cost of Dixa's AI agent follows the number of customers helped rather than the length of each exchange. The €89 entry point sits well above the per-agent price of Zammad, and Dixa's cost rises in step with headcount.

Dixa's contracting side is European and its infrastructure is not. Without an order form, Dixa ApS is the contracting party under Danish law, while Dixa Inc., a Delaware subsidiary, exists for American customers.

EU customers' databases sit on Amazon Web Services in Ireland with a daily backup elsewhere in Europe, but Dixa's privacy policy says other customers' data may be stored in the US. For a European buyer that means a Danish contract and Irish servers run by an American provider, and Amazon Web Services is the part of that chain to put in front of whoever signs off on transfers.

What Dixa does well

  • Phone, email, chat and social in one queue, with the contact centre in every plan
  • Mim AI agent billed per conversation, at €0.35 each
  • Knowledge base and intelligent routing included
  • Danish company; Dixa ApS is the default contracting party under Danish law
  • EU customers hosted in Ireland, with a daily backup elsewhere in Europe

Where Dixa falls short

  • Runs on Amazon Web Services, so a US provider sits under the Irish hosting
  • The privacy policy says customers outside the EU may have their data stored in the US
  • Dixa Inc., a Delaware subsidiary, serves US customers, so check which entity your order form names
  • Per-agent pricing from €89 a month, and no self-serve trial

Standout feature. Dixa includes the contact centre in every plan, so a phone call lands in the same queue as an email, a chat or a social message rather than in a separate telephony product.

#7 Smartsupp

Brno, Czech Republic Free / Solo $17, Plus $25, Expert $83 per month billed annually ($24, $35, $117 monthly); Ultimate from $280/month Free tier + 14-day trial

Best for: Online shops that want live chat and an AI agent trained on their product catalogue

  • Operating company. Smartsupp.com, s.r.o.
  • Jurisdiction. EU (Czech Republic)
  • Where the data sits. Germany, on Amazon Web Services (AI features use OpenAI Ireland, where data may leave the EU)
  • Source code. Closed source
  • Replaces. Intercom, tawk.to, Zendesk Chat

Smartsupp is live chat for online shops from Smartsupp.com, s.r.o. in Brno, Czech Republic, with an AI agent that answers from the shop's own product catalogue. The Smartsupp AI agent, Mira, can be trained on up to 30,000 products, and chatbot and automation workflows sit alongside the live chat widget. Smartsupp is aimed at shops replacing Intercom, tawk.to or Zendesk Chat rather than at ticket-heavy service desks.

Smartsupp has a free tier and a 14-day trial. Paid Smartsupp plans billed annually cost $17 a month for Solo, $25 for Plus and $83 for Expert, or $24, $35 and $117 on monthly billing, and Ultimate starts at $280 a month. Smartsupp Solo is among the lowest paid entry prices in this category; the step from Expert to Ultimate is the one a growing shop should price before it needs it.

Smartsupp stores data in Germany on Amazon Web Services, according to its DPA, so the company is Czech, the servers are in Germany and the infrastructure provider is American.

Smartsupp's AI features add a second step, because those features use OpenAI Ireland, where data may leave the EU. A shop that turns on Smartsupp's AI therefore sends conversation data through OpenAI, and a shop that needs every conversation kept inside the EU should either leave those features off or get the transfer terms in writing first.

What Smartsupp does well

  • Free tier and a 14-day trial
  • Paid plans from $17 a month on annual billing
  • Mira AI agent trained on up to 30,000 products
  • Chatbot and automation workflows next to the live chat
  • Czech company, with data stored in Germany

Where Smartsupp falls short

  • Hosted on Amazon Web Services, so a US provider sits under the German servers
  • AI features use OpenAI Ireland, where data may leave the EU
  • Built around live chat for shops rather than as a ticketing helpdesk
  • Ultimate starts at $280 a month, a steep step up from Expert at $83

Standout feature. Smartsupp trains its Mira AI agent on up to 30,000 products, which puts a shop's own catalogue behind the answers a visitor gets in the chat window.

#8 Znuny

Berlin, Germany Software free (GPL-3.0); managed hosting from €675/month (Silver, annual, plus €1,595 setup); support from €4,250/year Free self-hosted

Best for: Service and IT teams that want open-source ticketing with SLAs on their own servers

  • Operating company. Znuny GmbH
  • Jurisdiction. EU (Germany)
  • Where the data sits. Self-hosted on your own infrastructure; Znuny's managed hosting runs in "ISO 27001-certified data centres" whose location and operator are not stated
  • Independent checks. SOC 2 (since 2024), ISO/IEC 27001:2022 (since January 2025)
  • Source code. Open source
  • Replaces. Zendesk, Freshdesk, Jira Service Management

Znuny is an open-source ticketing and ITSM system from Znuny GmbH in Berlin, and the maintained continuation of OTRS Community Edition. Znuny publishes its source code on GitHub under GPL-3.0, so the software costs nothing and a team can run Znuny on its own servers without signing anything.

SLA management, process tickets and a knowledge base with an FAQ module are part of Znuny, which puts the product nearer to Jira Service Management than to a chat widget. One of the two directors of Znuny GmbH, Martin Edenhofer, is also the founder of Zammad, which sits higher in this category.

Znuny earns its money on the services around the software rather than on licences. Managed hosting from Znuny starts at €675 a month on the Silver plan, billed annually, plus a €1,595 setup fee, and support contracts start at €4,250 a year.

For a small team that is a large fixed cost, so self-hosting is the realistic route in, and the managed plans are priced for organisations weighing Znuny against a full ITSM suite. Znuny has held SOC 2 since 2024 and ISO/IEC 27001:2022 since January 2025, which gives a procurement team two audits to read rather than a GDPR statement.

Two caveats belong on the shortlist. Znuny's managed hosting runs in what Znuny calls "ISO 27001-certified data centres", but Znuny does not state where those data centres are or who operates them, so the location is a question to ask before signing.

Alongside Znuny GmbH there are also Znuny Inc. in the United States and Znuny Swiss GmbH, and the Znuny imprint names no parent company, so it is worth confirming which entity a hosting or support contract is with. Self-hosting Znuny removes both questions and hands your own team the patching, monitoring and backups instead.

What Znuny does well

  • Open source under GPL-3.0, with the code on GitHub
  • Free to self-host, so the ticket archive stays on your own infrastructure
  • SLA management and process tickets for ITSM-shaped support
  • SOC 2 since 2024 and ISO/IEC 27001:2022 since January 2025
  • German company, and the maintained continuation of OTRS Community Edition

Where Znuny falls short

  • Managed hosting names "ISO 27001-certified data centres" but not their location or operator
  • Znuny Inc. (US) and Znuny Swiss GmbH exist alongside Znuny GmbH, with no parent company named
  • Managed hosting from €675 a month plus €1,595 setup, a large fixed cost for a small team
  • Self-hosting puts patching, monitoring and backups on your own team

Standout feature. Znuny pairs a GPL-3.0 codebase with SOC 2 and ISO/IEC 27001:2022, so both the software and the company behind it can be checked by someone other than the vendor.

#9 SupportPal

Isleworth, United Kingdom $29.95/month or $299.95/year per helpdesk; unlimited operators and tickets; extra brands $9.95/month 30-day self-hosted trial

Best for: Teams with their own server that want a flat helpdesk price with no charge per agent

  • Operating company. SupportPal Limited
  • Jurisdiction. United Kingdom (adequacy decision, outside the EEA)
  • Where the data sits. Self-hosted only: runs on your own server; the pricing page lists no vendor-hosted plan
  • Source code. Closed source
  • Replaces. Zendesk, Freshdesk, Help Scout

SupportPal is a self-hosted helpdesk from SupportPal Limited in Isleworth, United Kingdom, sold at a flat price per helpdesk rather than per agent. A SupportPal licence costs $29.95 a month or $299.95 a year per helpdesk, with unlimited operators and tickets, and each extra brand adds $9.95 a month. SupportPal therefore costs a team of twenty agents exactly what it costs a team of two.

SupportPal runs only on your own server, and its pricing page lists no vendor-hosted plan. That makes the data question short: the ticket archive sits wherever you install SupportPal, and SupportPal Limited does not host it.

Self-hosting SupportPal also makes the operational question yours, because installing, updating, securing and backing up the helpdesk falls to your own team or your hosting provider. SupportPal offers a 30-day self-hosted trial, which is long enough to find out whether that work suits you before paying.

Two facts set SupportPal apart from the open-source helpdesks in this category. SupportPal is proprietary: its own EULA forbids modifying and redistributing the software, so running SupportPal on your server does not give you the right to change or fork the code.

SupportPal Limited is a UK company, which places the vendor under a jurisdiction covered by an EU adequacy decision but outside the EEA. Because SupportPal does not host customer data, that jurisdiction bears mainly on the licence and support relationship rather than on the ticket archive.

What SupportPal does well

  • Flat price per helpdesk: $29.95 a month or $299.95 a year
  • Unlimited operators and tickets, so adding an agent costs nothing
  • Runs on your own server, so SupportPal Limited does not host the ticket data
  • Multi-brand helpdesk, at $9.95 a month per extra brand
  • 30-day self-hosted trial before paying

Where SupportPal falls short

  • Self-hosted only; the pricing page lists no vendor-hosted plan
  • Proprietary licence: the EULA forbids modifying and redistributing the code
  • UK company, covered by an adequacy decision but outside the EEA
  • Installing, updating and backing up the server is work for your own team

Standout feature. SupportPal prices per helpdesk rather than per agent, so the twentieth operator costs exactly what the second did: nothing extra.

#10 Customerly

Dublin, Ireland Core $19, Growth $69, Ultimate $99 per seat/month (10, 20 and 50 AI conversations included); further AI conversations $0.45 each; Aura AI agent alone $0.45 per AI conversation with no seats; prices shown in USD with a EUR switch Free trial

Best for: SaaS teams that want an AI agent first and humans second

  • Operating company. Customerly Limited
  • Jurisdiction. EU (Ireland)
  • Where the data sits. AWS data centres in the EU; AI processing on Microsoft Azure OpenAI Service and Pinecone in the EU; Stripe (EU and US) and OneSignal push notifications (US) also process data
  • Source code. Closed source
  • Replaces. Intercom, Zendesk, Freshdesk

Customerly is an AI-first support suite from Customerly Limited in Dublin. Its centre of gravity is Aura, an AI agent that trains on your help centre, resolves conversations end to end and escalates to a human with context when it cannot.

Around it sit AI live chat, a help centre, flows, NPS and CSAT surveys and iOS and Android apps. For a SaaS team that wants most conversations closed before a person sees them, the product is built around exactly that, rather than adding AI to a ticket system as an afterthought.

Pricing has two parts worth separating. Seats cost $19, $69 and $99 per month on Core, Growth and Ultimate, each with an allowance of 10, 20 or 50 AI conversations a month, and further AI conversations cost $0.45 each.

Aura can also be bought alone at $0.45 per AI conversation with no seats. A conversation counts once however many messages follow. Prices display in US dollars by default with a switch to euros, and there is no free tier on the pricing page, only a free trial.

On data, the vendor's own pages are specific. Customer data is stored in AWS data centres in the EU, and the AI sub-processors, Microsoft Azure OpenAI Service and Pinecone, are listed as processing in the EU.

Stripe processes in the EU and the United States, and OneSignal push notifications in the United States. The GDPR and privacy pages were last updated in 2021, so ask for the current data processing agreement. Compared with Crisp it is priced per seat plus AI usage, where Crisp prices per workspace.

What Customerly does well

  • Aura AI agent resolves conversations end to end and escalates with context
  • Published pricing, including $0.45 per AI conversation with no seats required
  • Customer data stored in AWS data centres in the EU
  • Help centre, flows, NPS and CSAT surveys and mobile apps in one suite
  • Irish company with a published subprocessor list

Where Customerly falls short

  • Prices display in dollars by default; euros are a switch
  • No free tier on the pricing page, only a free trial
  • AI usage is billed on top of seats beyond the included conversations
  • Stripe and OneSignal process some data in the United States

Standout feature. An AI agent you can buy without seats: Aura at $0.45 per AI conversation, stated on the page, with customer data kept in AWS data centres in the EU.

#11 Plain

Altrincham, United Kingdom Founded 2020 Foundation $45/user/month billed annually ($55 monthly), Horizon $99/user/month billed annually, Frontier custom; 1,000 / 2,500 credits per month included, extra credits $10 per 1,000; Ari AI agent 100 credits per resolution 7-day free trial, no credit card

Best for: B2B software teams supporting customers in Slack and email

  • Operating company. Plain: Not Just Tickets Ltd
  • Jurisdiction. United Kingdom (adequacy decision, outside the EEA)
  • Where the data sits. Amazon Web Services London (eu-west-2); with AI features on, thread content is sent to OpenAI and Anthropic (zero data retention with OpenAI; features can be switched off)
  • Independent checks. SOC 2 Type II
  • Source code. Closed source
  • Replaces. Zendesk, Intercom, Help Scout

Plain is built by Plain: Not Just Tickets Ltd, registered in England and Wales, for software companies whose customers talk to them in Slack, Microsoft Teams, Discord and email rather than through a website widget.

Threads from those channels land in one workspace with customer cards, tiers, SLAs, escalation paths and workflows, and the API is open enough to embed support in your own product. It is closer to support infrastructure than to a classic helpdesk, and it assumes your team is comfortable with Linear or Jira integrations and an API.

Pricing is published and per seat. Foundation is $45 per user per month billed annually ($55 monthly), Horizon is $99 per user per month billed annually, and Frontier is custom.

Each plan includes a monthly pool of credits, 1,000 on Foundation and 2,500 on Horizon, which the AI agents consume: Ari, the customer-facing agent, uses 100 credits per resolution, and extra credits cost $10 per 1,000. Viewer seats are unlimited, so people who only need to read threads do not need a paid seat. A seven-day free trial needs no credit card.

Plain publishes where the data sits: Amazon Web Services in London (eu-west-2), with SOC 2 Type II certification and a data processing agreement. The caveat is the AI.

When its AI features are on, thread content is sent to OpenAI and Anthropic, which Plain lists as sub-processors, with zero data retention agreed for OpenAI, and each AI feature can be switched off in workspace settings. English law governs the terms, so the company sits outside the EEA under an adequacy decision, as SupportPal does.

What Plain does well

  • Works natively in Slack, Microsoft Teams, Discord and email
  • Published seat and credit pricing with unlimited viewer seats
  • AWS London hosting and SOC 2 Type II certification
  • Open API, workflows, SLAs and escalation paths
  • Importers for Intercom, Help Scout, Freshdesk, Front and Jira Service Management

Where Plain falls short

  • Built for B2B software teams, not for retail or phone queues
  • AI features send thread content to OpenAI and Anthropic unless switched off
  • UK company, outside the EEA
  • Member seats are capped per plan: up to five on Foundation, ten on Horizon

Standout feature. Support where B2B customers already talk: Slack, Teams and Discord channels become tickets, with unlimited viewer seats for the rest of the company.

#12 OTOBO

Leiblfing, Germany Software free (GPL v3.0, licence-free); Managed OTOBO from €11,400/year (Professional, virtual server) to €26,000/year (Enterprise, 24/7); additional virtual server €1,500/year Free self-hosted; online demo

Best for: Organisations that want open-source service management from a German vendor

  • Operating company. Rother OSS GmbH
  • Jurisdiction. EU (Germany)
  • Where the data sits. Self-hosted on your own infrastructure; managed hosting runs in a German data centre
  • Independent checks. Open source (GPL v3.0)
  • Source code. Open source
  • Replaces. OTRS, Zendesk, Jira Service Management

OTOBO is an open-source service management platform from Rother OSS GmbH in Leiblfing, Bavaria, the maintainer of its source code. It covers a helpdesk for customer service, IT service management and enterprise service management on one codebase, released under GPL v3.0 and licence-free.

The customer service features include case management, a self-service portal with a knowledge base, process automation, escalations and requests by email, phone and portal. It is a service desk first and a chat product not at all, so it suits ticket-shaped support rather than a website widget.

Cost splits between free software and paid services. Running OTOBO yourself costs nothing in licences, but someone has to install, patch and back it up.

Rother OSS sells Managed OTOBO on a virtual server in a German data centre: Professional is €11,400 per year, Enterprise is €26,000 per year with 24/7 support, and each extra virtual server costs €1,500 per year. Concurrent agents are unlimited on every managed plan. These are prices for an operated system, not per-agent fees, and they are far above per-seat hosted tools for a small team.

The closest comparison is Znuny, the other open-source system in this category with an OTRS lineage.

OTOBO runs its own release line, offers a dedicated migration service from OTRS, and lets you connect up to ten authentication backends such as Active Directory, LDAP and Kerberos for single sign-on. Zammad has the more modern interface and the cheaper hosted route. OTOBO makes sense where process requirements, ITIL-style handling or an existing OTRS system decide the choice, and where a German vendor that both maintains and operates the software is worth the yearly price.

What OTOBO does well

  • Open source under GPL v3.0 with no licence fee and unlimited concurrent agents on managed plans
  • Customer service, IT service and enterprise service management in one platform
  • Managed hosting in a German data centre, run by the maintainer
  • Published managed-service prices with stated 99.9 percent availability
  • Authentication against up to ten backends including Active Directory and LDAP

Where OTOBO falls short

  • Managed plans start at €11,400 a year, which is steep for a small desk
  • No live chat or messaging inbox; ticket and email shaped
  • Self-hosting needs your own team to patch, upgrade and back up
  • Patch updates and release upgrades cost extra on the Professional plan

Standout feature. An open-source service desk with an operated option: the maintainer itself runs it in a German data centre, at published yearly prices.

Per agent, per workspace or per feature — which model fits your team?

This is where the money is, and it is decided before anyone compares features. Dixa charges from €89 a month on Growth and Zammad from about €7 per agent. Crisp charges per workspace: €25 a month for Pro with four operators, €95 for Unlimited with unlimited operators. SupportPal charges per helpdesk with unlimited operators, and Dixa bills its Mim AI agent separately, per conversation.

Per-agent pricing makes occasional users expensive, and the predictable consequence is that people who should be able to answer a customer are not given accounts. The developer who could resolve a technical question in one message ends up relaying through a support agent, because a seat costs €20 a month.

Per-workspace pricing removes that. On Crisp Unlimited the tenth operator costs nothing, so anyone who might need to answer a customer can. For a growing team that is both cheaper and operationally better.

Usage-based add-ons are the easiest part to underestimate: a per-conversation AI agent on top of a per-agent seat price can exceed the cost of an all-in-one platform at higher volumes. Price the configuration you will actually run in a year, not the entry plan. Customerly and Plain follow the same pattern: seats from $19 and $45 a month, with AI conversations or credits billed on top of an included allowance.

What does AI actually resolve, and what does it cost?

The useful kind answers from your own material rather than improvising. Dixa's Mim AI agent handles conversations at €0.35 each, and Crisp's chatbot builder and Smartsupp's AI features answer from the documentation and knowledge base you connect. Customerly's Aura is priced the same way at $0.45 per AI conversation, while Plain's Ari uses 100 credits per resolution from a monthly pool. Vendor resolution figures are worth measuring against your own traffic before believing them.

The billing detail is unusually important. Mim is priced per conversation rather than per message, so a customer who reopens a thread or asks three follow-ups is one billable interaction. Per-message billing on a support tool punishes exactly the thorough conversations you want to have.

The limit is structural rather than a shortcoming: an AI agent trained on a knowledge base cannot answer questions requiring live access to systems it is not integrated with. If half your questions are "where is my order", the integration matters more than the model.

Where the AI runs matters as much as what it does: Smartsupp's AI features use OpenAI Ireland, where data may leave the EU, and Plain sends thread content to OpenAI and Anthropic unless its AI features are switched off, so check the processor list before switching an AI feature on.

Why does a helpdesk need to be self-hostable at all?

Because a support system accumulates the most sensitive customer record an organisation has. Not just names and addresses but complaints, refund disputes, health-related requests, financial details and everything a frustrated customer types into a chat box at midnight — searchable, in one place, for years.

Zammad, Znuny and OTOBO are all open source and self-hostable, so that archive lives on infrastructure you control with no processor to assess and no data processing agreement to negotiate. Zammad also offers a hosted cloud option in Germany for teams that would rather not run it.

Zammad is the stronger classical helpdesk: multi-channel ticketing, knowledge base, automation, LDAP and external authentication for centralised access management, and reporting — the shape a support desk needs rather than a chat widget with tickets added. From about €7 per agent per month hosted, it is also the cheapest per-agent option here.

Znuny and OTOBO are the ITSM-minded options, free GPL software with paid managed hosting; OTOBO's managed plans start at €11,400 a year in a German data centre. All three cost the same thing to self-host: someone has to run, back up and upgrade it.

What does a regulated business need beyond "GDPR compliant"?

Every tool in this category claims GDPR compliance, so the claim carries no information. What separates them is the mechanism.

Userlike goes furthest and treats it as product rather than paperwork: processing entirely within German data centres, ISO 27001 certification for information security management, configurable retention policies with automatic deletion schedules, cookie consent built into the widget and explicit opt-in so no personal data is collected without consent.

For banking, insurance and healthcare it adds the controls those sectors actually get asked about: IP-based access restrictions, audit logging, the ability to mask or redact sensitive information inside conversations, and SAML single sign-on for centralised access management. Redaction matters more than it sounds — customers paste card numbers and medical details into chat windows constantly, and a transcript that keeps them is a liability that grows daily.

Crisp processes in the EU with export and deletion for subject access requests. Zammad and Znuny self-hosted put the whole question on your side of the line.

Where do support tool rollouts go wrong?

Turning on every channel at once. A chat widget, WhatsApp, Instagram, email and a phone queue each create an expectation of response time, and a team that cannot staff five channels serves all five badly. Open one, staff it properly, then open the next.

The second failure is the knowledge base nobody wrote. Every AI feature here — Mim, Crisp's chatbot, Smartsupp's AI — answers from your documentation, so deploying AI onto a thin knowledge base produces confident wrong answers. The documentation is the work; the AI is the interface to it.

The third is retention nobody configured. Conversation history accumulates forever by default, which is both a GDPR problem and a growing liability. Userlike's configurable automatic deletion and similar retention settings exist precisely for this, and both need someone to actually set them.

The fourth is measuring the wrong thing. Response time is easy to measure and easy to game by answering fast with nothing useful. Resolution rate and reopened-conversation rate are harder and are what actually indicate whether the desk works.

How we selected and ranked these 12 tools

Every tool on this page is in the European Purpose directory, which means the operating company is established in Europe and we have verified that from the company register or the vendor's own legal notice rather than from a marketing page. Tools headquartered outside Europe are not eligible, however good they are.

  1. Feature verification (weight: 40%). We check each capability against the vendor's own documentation and product pages, and record what the tool does rather than what the category is assumed to include.
  2. Ease of adoption (weight: 30%). Integrations, published API access, trial availability and how much configuration stands between signing and a usable result.
  3. Value and transparency (weight: 30%). Published pricing counts in a vendor's favour; quote-only pricing is recorded as quote-only rather than estimated. We weigh what a buyer gets for the entry price, not the headline feature count.
  4. Editorial review. Every page is researched and drafted with AI assistance, and the compliance and pricing claims are checked against the vendor's documentation before it is published under the founder's editorial responsibility. The three weights above decide the order; a position is a ranking against the other European tools in this category, not an absolute score.

Vendor-reported outcomes — ROI figures, margin uplift, time saved — are labelled as vendor claims wherever they appear on this page. We have not audited them, and neither has anyone else who quotes them. Read our full editorial process for how pages are re-verified.

Frequently asked questions

Omnidesk holds #1 among the European customer support platforms in this directory, because Omnidesk handles email, live chat, WhatsApp, social and telephone in one timeline per customer, connects to national phone networks directly with live call transcription, and is ISO and NEN certified with EU hosting.

Omnidesk publishes no prices and is built for large teams, so the right answer depends on the shape of your team: Dixa for phone-heavy queues with an AI agent billed per conversation, Crisp for per-workspace pricing that does not punish adding agents, Userlike for German hosting and regulated industries, Customerly for an AI agent billed per conversation, Plain for B2B software teams that support customers in Slack, and Zammad, Znuny or OTOBO to self-host the whole thing.

Zammad is free when self-hosted and the cheapest hosted option at about €7 per agent per month.

Crisp has a genuinely usable free tier for two operators and prices per workspace rather than per seat — €25 per month for Pro and €95 for Unlimited with unlimited operators, which is far cheaper for a growing team. Dixa starts at €89 a month on Growth. Customerly starts at $19 per seat per month, and Plain at $45 per user per month billed annually.

Crisp and SupportPal, plus OTOBO if you run it yourself, since its software is licence-free, and Customerly's Aura AI agent, which is sold without seats at $0.45 per AI conversation.

Crisp prices per workspace: €25 per month for Pro including four operators, and €95 per month for Unlimited with unlimited operators.

SupportPal charges $29.95 a month or $299.95 a year per helpdesk with unlimited operators, but SupportPal runs only on your own server. Adding the tenth agent on Crisp Unlimited costs nothing, which is the opposite of Intercom and Zendesk. That matters operationally as well as financially — per-seat pricing means people who could answer a customer are not given accounts, so questions get relayed rather than resolved.

Zammad, Znuny and OTOBO are open source and self-hostable, so the complete archive of customer conversations stays on infrastructure you control with no processor to assess.

Zammad is the stronger classical helpdesk with multi-channel ticketing, a knowledge base, automation, LDAP and external authentication, and reporting. Znuny is open source (GPL-3.0) and self-hostable, with managed hosting from €675 a month. OTOBO is open source (GPL v3.0) with managed hosting in a German data centre from €11,400 a year, and SupportPal runs only on your own server under a proprietary licence.

Dixa's Mim AI agent and Customerly's Aura are the most clearly priced here: Mim handles conversations at €0.35 each and Aura at $0.45 each, both billed per conversation rather than per message, so follow-ups in the same thread do not cost extra.

Plain's Ari uses 100 credits per resolution from a monthly pool, with extra credits at $10 per 1,000.

Crisp offers a chatbot builder and Smartsupp AI features that answer from your own knowledge base, though Smartsupp's AI uses OpenAI Ireland, where data may leave the EU, and Plain sends thread content to OpenAI and Anthropic unless the AI features are switched off. Vendor resolution rates are worth measuring against your own traffic.

Userlike, which processes entirely within German data centres and holds ISO 27001 certification. For banking, insurance and healthcare it adds IP-based access restrictions, audit logging, the ability to mask or redact sensitive information inside conversations, and SAML single sign-on. Redaction matters in practice because customers paste card numbers and medical details into chat windows constantly. Configurable retention policies with automatic deletion complete the set. Free tier available, Team from about €90 per month.

Mostly, with caveats. Crisp is French, and Userlike hosts exclusively in German data centres.

Dixa hosts EU customers on Amazon Web Services in Ireland but says other customers' data may be stored in the US, and Smartsupp stores data in Germany on Amazon Web Services while its AI features use OpenAI Ireland, where data may leave the EU.

Self-hosted Zammad, Znuny and SupportPal put the data wherever you run them; Znuny does not state where its own managed hosting runs.

Customerly stores data in AWS data centres in the EU, with its AI sub-processors processing in the EU and Stripe and OneSignal partly in the United States. Plain, a UK company, runs on AWS in London, outside the EEA under an adequacy decision.

OTOBO's managed hosting runs in a German data centre. That matters because a support archive is among the most sensitive customer records an organisation holds — not only names and addresses but complaints, disputes, health-related requests and whatever a frustrated customer types at midnight, searchable and retained for years.

Crisp is the closest on shape and far cheaper: live chat, shared inbox, chatbot builder, knowledge base, built-in CRM, video calls and screen sharing, priced per workspace rather than per seat.

Smartsupp covers online shops specifically, with live chat and a chatbot built for e-commerce. Userlike is the choice where German hosting and regulated-industry controls matter. Customerly is the AI-first alternative, with an AI agent trained on your help centre and published seat prices from $19. Zammad self-hosted covers the helpdesk side with no vendor at all.

The knowledge base, because every AI feature in this category answers from your documentation rather than from general knowledge — so deploying AI onto thin documentation produces confident wrong answers at scale. Write the twenty articles that cover your most common questions first, then connect the AI to them. Also configure retention before launch rather than after: conversation history accumulates indefinitely by default, which becomes both a GDPR problem and a growing liability.

Not on this list?

If you build a European customer support tool that belongs here, tell us about it. Every suggestion is checked against the same criteria as the tools above: European ownership and hosting, a real product, and pricing we can verify. A listing is editorial, and we say so on this page where placement is paid.

Suggest your tool